Free Car Seat Safety Classes and Distribution Saturday
Families throughout Southern Arizona are invited to attend classes this Saturday to receive a free car seat.
Pre-registration is required! Pre-registration will be hosted by Univision during one of their televised news shows beginning at 5 p.m. on Thursday, June 14.
Please call 204-1284 during this time.
Classes will be held Saturday, June 16, at several times throughout the morning.
TMC for Children, the proud lead agency of Safe Kids Tucson, is joining forces with the Tucson Police Department and Univision to offer up to 120 free child car seats to families at the Tucson Police Department substation at 1310 W. Miracle Mile.
Participating families will attend a 60-90 minute course, offered in either Spanish or English, where they will learn about child passenger safety laws and the proper installation of a car seat.
Certified car seat technicians will be on hand to answer questions.
“Motor vehicle crashes continue to rank among the top three preventable deaths,” said Safe Kids Tucson coordinator Yomaira Diaz.
Diaz said among the most common errors that are found:
• the child does not fit in the seat that they are in;
• the car seat is not compatible with the vehicle; and
• the seat belt is not routed through the correct belt paths.
“A lot of times when we’re out in the community, we find that parents and caregivers just don’t know everything they need to know about their vehicle and their child’s car seat,” Diaz said. “With just a brief class, they can be assured that their child will be far safer when traveling on the roads.”
Every child under 5 years old must, by Arizona law, be secured in an appropriate child safety seat.
Keep in mind that children are ready for a booster seat when they weigh over 40 pounds, and a new state law going into effect August 2, 2012 will require boosters for children ages 5 and older. Booster seats will be available for those children who are over 5 years of age.
Those unable to go to Saturday’s distribution, or who are hoping to comply with the new state law requiring booster seats, can call the TMC Boost Your Booty program at 324-5604.